Proud to be in the company of 5thvalley.

Blue 809Never a day goes by when I don’t pause for a moment to reflect upon our good fortune as a site and community; that we are truly graced with the most amazing individuals participating on Unfortunately, a casual visit does not reveal the level of member dedication and sheer awesomeness throughout. And sometimes, even the most seasoned participants miss a thing or two – including moi, admittedly.

Although I have seen this name and been in contact a few times, I had no idea just how brilliant, how awe-inspiring, how giving to this world a certain Supervisor was. I’m glad this interview made it my way, because I am very proud to be in the company of this week’s Featured Contributor, 5thvalley. Here’s a bit more on this mom, volunteer and extraordinary member of the human race:

What is your user name and the history behind it?

My user name is 5thvalley. In the writings of my Faith there is something describing the “Seven Valleys” (stages) in life that man must go through to attain nearness to God. At this age in life, I’m hopeful that I’ve reached the 5th Valley.

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor?

I’m a Category Supervisor of the Baha’i Faith.

What is your first name?


What is your age?


Would you like to tell us about your family?

I have two married daughters and four grandchildren, three of whom live in South Africa with my older daughter and her husband.

Do you have any pets?

Blue 209“Penny” is a two year old white Eskimo Spitz and “Lucky” is an older mutt who recently, literally, just walked into my home one day when I opened the door after having followed Penny and me on one of our walks. He’s been with us since. Lucky came by his name because he was “lucky” to find me. 🙂

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I’ve been living in Alabama for 23 years. Life is more laid back and the pace slower than up North. It’s a joy to inhale the scent of honeysuckle rather than gas fumes, and I can actually see the stars at night.

Where did you grow up and do you any special memories of your childhood?

I was born in England but grew up in and around Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. One special memory as a child was taking the trolley all by myself to center city for ballet lessons and feeling so proud that my mother trusted me that way. It’s a sad sign of the times that children can’t venture anywhere alone now.

What educational information would you like to share?

Although circumstances prevented my getting a degree (majored in English), I was proud of the fact that I consistently made the Dean’s List while I did attend.

What are your past and/or present occupations?

Inside sales rep of switchgear mfr; administrative assistant in a medical center; longhaul trucker; administrative assistant at local Red Cross chapter; legal assistant; presently retired

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I’ve been a collector of Native American art for many years and much of my home is Southwest decor. I used to love etching on glass and wood with diamond and carbide drill bits until I developed emphysema from breathing in too much glass dust and had to give it up.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I’m an avid reader of mysteries. In addition to my time at, I also moderate a few discussion boards on the Internet, and have to admit that I’m addicted to playing Tetris online.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

  1. Born in a London air-raid shelter during a WW II bombing raid.
  2. Became an American citizen when I was 19.
  3. Survived a 50-foot fall off a cliff when I was seven.
  4. Married in America’s first/oldest Catholic church (Old St. Joe’s) in Philadelphia.
  5. Regularly deliver Meals-on-Wheels to invalids and the aged.
  6. For almost three decades I’ve been rescuing dogs, getting them back to health and training/socializing them, then finding them good homes. My most recent success story was an emaciated Timberwolf/husky mix that had heartworms. She now lives with a family on 16 acres (before/after photos attached).

What accomplishments are you proud of?

  1. That I raised my children to be responsible adults.
  2. In the early 1970’s, I was the first woman inside sales rep nationwide for an international electrical manufacturer.
  3. In the 1980’s only 9% of all tractor-trailer drivers were women and, of that 9%, only 3% drove solo. At 5 foot, 107 lbs, I was one of that 3% driving a big rig 48 states and Canada for eight years.

What are your special goals or dreams?

Not in particular order: 1) to visit the Taj Mahal and Baha’i Lotus Temple in India; 2) to make another pilgrimage to the Holy Land; 3) to return at least once again to England before I leave this earth.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Outgoing – seldom meet someone I can’t get along with.

What brought you to

I found the site while hunting for something else and decided to stay.

What kept you coming back to

I wanted to be sure answers regarding the Baha’i Faith were accurate. It was also interesting to contribute some of my knowledge about dogs.

What is your favorite activity?

Editing / correcting spelling and grammar / categorizing

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

2 thoughts on “Proud to be in the company of 5thvalley.

  1. Interesting post.

    Now I hate asking for anything, but I was wondering if there wouldn’t be any trouble in maybe interviewing me? I’ve been on WikiAnswers for a while now, and thought maybe it wouldn’t hurt.


  2. Nice, My 5th grade students were working on a interet search looking for what do these 5 words have in common ophidophobia,acrophobia,musophobia and aviophobia and your answer had profanity in it. Nice for a catholic school kid to see.
    Now I have to explain that to the parents and we have a block on profanity but the way it was printed it didn’t get caught.


Your comments are welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s