Wildrosebeef: The best of Canada and good eatin’!

I love doing Contributor Corner posts when a contributor’s user name is somewhat (or totally!) quirky, whimsical or mysterious – which happens to be the case this week. Our featured contributor has a name that has always made me think of something very strange – wild rose-flavored beef. Until I received this interview back, I was certain I had missed a new eating trend or some homemade delicacy that was all the rage. Not the case I am happy to report! Wildrosebeef happens to be an amazing Answers.com Supervisor and brings to the site the best of Canada and good eatin’! Read ahead to find out how this fanciful user name came to be…

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

My Answers.com username is Wildrosebeef. In short, the “wild rose” part of it is about where I come from: the great province of Alberta, Canada. The provincial flower of Alberta is the Wild Rose, and it is one of my favorite wild flowers that grows around here every June. The second part is about what I like to raise and talk about: Beef cattle.

How and when did you discover Answers.com?

I believe I discovered the site by sheer boredom and by accident. I was just paroozin’ around the Internet for some questions and answers about cattle and cows from pretty well any site that will keep me from getting bored, and on Ask.com I found some questions about such things as “How many stomachs does a cow have” or “What do cattle eat” or something like that that was linked to WikiAnswers. I found the answers to either be false or too ambiguous for the questions asked, so I decided to go to the site, sign up so that I could correct them. Not surprisingly, I found even more questions that needed answers and more answers that needed to be edited, and, well, I’ve been hooked ever since!

Would you care to share some information about your family?

We’re a more quiet, private bunch that ain’t all that fond of sharing too much information on a public website, but I can tell you that my family is a farm family. Both sides (my mom and dad) have relatives that have been or are involved in the farming business in some way shape or form, past or present.

Do you have any pets?

Yes I do! I have four cats: two outside and two inside. The outside cats are siblings that were born and raised on the farm, and the inside ones are adopted strays we took in a couple years ago from a local veterinary clinic. All four get lavished with lots of attention!

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I currently live in the “northern” area of Alberta, Canada, and have been raised there since before I was born. That area is truly home to me, my old stomping grounds, and a place where I learned about life, love, responsibility, and hard work.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I remember being exposed to various animals when I was knee-high to a grasshopper: cats, dogs, and cattle. My first animal encounter was with a neighbor’s kitty cat when I was around one years of age and I remember being happier than a pig in mud! Guess I’ve been a bit of an animal-lover since then.

What educational information would you like to share?

I have a four-year Bachelor of Sciences degree majoring in Animal Science from the University of Alberta’s Department of Agriculture. I’m hoping that I will be able to get back to my studies this fall so that I can finish my studies and officially graduate with a BSc from the U of A. I’ve been taking a bit of a break, but now I’m willing to go back and put my nose to the grindstone once again. I’m mainly focused on the cattle and forages/range and pasture management part of the program. Just a note: Animal Science is kind of a pre-veterinary program, but it’s not, even though 90% of the courses taken in this program are the same as the pre-vet one. It’s for those who want to study the sciences behind livestock production yet either don’t want to or can’t get into the pre-vet program.

What are your past and/or present occupations?

I used to work at a local veterinary clinic, but now I’m in-between jobs, being here and there.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interest or expertise?

I love talking about agriculture and cattle. My main knowledge and expertise lie in the categories I Supervise Cows and Cattle, Cattle Breeding (including weaning, gestation, calving, and post-calving management), Cattle Feeding and Pasture Management (includes ruminant physiology and digestion, and forage/plant physiology and soil studies that has to do with range/pasture management.), Cattle Health (everything from vaccinations to diseases and injuries), Agriculture and Ranching.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I admit I have a rock collection hidden somewhere. Just some pretty rocks I found around home and decided to squirrel away. Actually they’re prettier than you can imagine…

As for hobbies, besides WikiAnswers (which is painfully obvious from my contributions), I like to read, play piano, sketch/draw, go berry picking, go hiking, biking and skiing. I am also a bit of an avid amateur photographer. When I’ve got nothing else (or better) to do I’m on Answers.com.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I’ve been bit by a dog (30 stitches to my face) and charged at twice when I was little (on two separate occasions) by a bull (first encounter) and a steer (second encounter). But haven’t been scared of either species since, oddly enough. I love working with cattle and, if I get the chance, I would also love to work with horses a bit more than I have in the past.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

Other than I can play piano and draw pretty good, no not really. Except the fact that I can make a friend out of pretty well almost every dog and cat (and occasionally horse) that I meet. The one time that I got bit by a dog was when I didn’t understand the meaning of “respect a dog’s space,” or “let the dog come to you, not you to him.” Hence the lesson from the School of Hard Knocks.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

If you can call this an accomplishment, it’s getting nominated and made into a Supervisor the 3rd or 4th day after I joined Answers.com! But other than that…

What are your special goals or dreams?

The most obvious is that someday I would love to start a cow-calf herd of my own using sustainable environmental and economic practices to make the actual career a conservation effort in terms of the environment and being economically sound (i.e., not lose money in it). If I could start on the farm I live and grew up on that would be just great. But if I have no choice but to start somewhere else, well that’s just fine, too. Oh, and I would also love to have a dog (or two) someday.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Lazy, yet a hard worker; polite and kind, yet firm and stubborn as a mule. I am a bit blunt, too, and normally don’t like to sugar-coat things, be it in conversation with a user I’ve warned or in the answers I give on the wiki site.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Editing answers and answering questions, organizational activities like recategorizing and batch splitting, and catching and warning/blocking vandals. My favorite group that I’m a part of is Vandal Patrol. I also love being a part of the Mentoring Program as well.

Your comments are welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s